13feb24

I'm not dead, and I've only partially forgotten about this website.

I have a number of projects in progress concurrently (including this one) and they fade into and out of prominence at almost random, which is why I haven’t done anything with this site in two months (although it doesn't help that it's getting buried in the ever growing pile of tabs (currently 190) I have open at once).

Here is a short list of the various things that have been happening, in no particular order:

  • I took the XPT up to Brisbane. I booked a sleeper compartment and as such it was one of the most pleasant travel experiences I’ve ever had, and I’m planning a two-day trip to Melbourne and Sydney, as well as a trip up to Longreach.
    I flew back, however, and my Zenit E got absolutely barbequed by Brisbane airport security (hopefully the ortho 80 inside has survived).
  • I have opened up my Zenit Quartz 1x8s-2 (again), to try and re-align the viewfinder to the film gate, stop the aperture from closing too much and figure out why it keeps jamming (expect a write-up on that at some point).
  • Work on the theremin is progressing slowly, I am currently trying to get the volume control section to properly control the volume. It has stagnated somewhat, as
  • My scope died! It was on for a few hours one day, whilst a friend and I were trying to calibrate one of his camera’s shutters when the display blurred horizontally significantly, went into beam find mode, then collapsed entirely into a bright spot. I suspect it is an issue with the +15V rail, as the graticule illumination also doesn’t work but i’ve sent it off to be repaired since i’m not confident enough in my skills to attempt to repair it.
  • I have attempted the re-silvering process for the pentaprism on a waste piece of glass (and the inside of my beakers) and am currently working out some of the issues before the next attempt
  • I have so many new cameras, some of which I need to repair.
  • I lost access to my (uni sponsored) Adobe subscription so either diagrams are (as I had somewhat initially planned) going to be pixel-rationed hand-drawn scans, or are going to take significantly longer to produce.